[Home Page] [Contact Us]

Line Up

The members of Arish Mel play:
Melodeons, Fiddle, Clarinet, Bass Clarinet, Recorders, Bass Guitar, Djembe, Cabassa, Tambourine, Lemon!

We work with several excellent local Dorset Callers
We provide our own PA system

All the band members have been playing for English Traditional Dance for many years.
We are all dancers as well – which shows in our music!

The Name
Arish Mel is a beautiful bay nestling in a gap in the Chalk cliffs between Lulworth Cove and Kimmeridge Bay
Famous for centuries as a navigational landmark used by sailors to avoid the dangerous Kimmeridge Ledges
It is nowadays in the heart of the Lulworth Tank Ranges
It just happened to be the nearest bit of Dorset’s Jurassic Coast to our first ever Arish Mel Gig!

Bookings in 2020
Friday 31st January – Kimmeridge Keilidh in the New Hall at The Etches Collection, Kimmeridge BH20 5PE – caller: Sue Perigo – spot: Confluence Folk Duo - 7.30pm – tickets on the door £5 – no bar – bring your own drinks & nibbles!

Saturday 22nd February 2020 – Private Birthday Party – caller: Teresa Rabbetts

Friday 28th February – Kimmeridge Keilidh in the New Hall at The Etches Collection, Kimmeridge BH20 5PE – caller: Dick Williams – spot: Maythorn - 7.30pm – tickets on the door £5 – no bar – bring your own drinks & nibbles!

Saturday 14th March – Upton Community Centre Barn Dance – caller: Teresa Rabbetts

Friday 27th March – Kimmeridge Keilidh in the New Hall at The Etches Collection, Kimmeridge BH20 5PE – caller: Angela Laycock – spot: Gilly Kemp - 7.30pm – tickets on the door £5 – no bar – bring your own drinks & nibbles!

Friday 17th April - Piddle Valley Barn Dance – Piddletrenthide Memorial Hall, Main Street, Piddletrenthide DT2 7QF – Caller: Ruth Thompson

Friday 15th May – Kimmeridge Keilidh in the New Hall at The Etches Collection, Kimmeridge BH20 5PE – caller: Paul Miles – spot: tbc - 7.30pm – tickets on the door £5 – no bar – bring your own drinks & nibbles!

Friday 12th June – Wimborne Minster Folk Festival Ceilidh – Queen Elizabeth School, Wimborne BH21 4DT – Caller: Teresa Rabbetts

Friday 26th June – Kimmeridge Keilidh in the New Hall at The Etches Collection, Kimmeridge BH20 5PE – caller: Teresa Rabbetts – spot: tbc - 7.30pm – tickets on the door £5 – no bar – bring your own drinks & nibbles!

 

Bookings in 2019

Friday 8th February – Kimmeridge Keilidh in the New Hall at The Etches Collection, Kimmeridge BH20 5PE – caller: Paul Miles – spot: Gilly Kemp

Friday 8th March – Kimmeridge Keilidh in the New Hall at The Etches Collection, Kimmeridge BH20 5PE – caller: Malcolm Churchill – spot: Dorset Button Rapper

Friday 15th March - Piddle Valley Barn Dance – Piddletrenthide Memorial Hall, Main Street, Piddletrenthide DT2 7QF – caller: Teresa Rabbetts

Saturday 16th March – Upton Community Centre – caller Teresa Rabbetts

Friday 26th April – Kimmeridge Keilidh in the New Hall at The Etches Collection, Kimmeridge BH20 5PE – caller: Teresa Rabbetts – spot: Bourne River Morris Men

Friday 5th July – Kimmeridge Keilidh in the New Hall at The Etches Collection, Kimmeridge BH20 5PE – caller: Teresa Rabbetts – spot: Gilly Kemp

Saturday 10th August – Private Birthday Party Barn Dance – caller: Teresa Rabbetts

Friday 20th September – Double Act Harvest Barn Dance – Corfe Castle Village Hall BH20 5EE – Caller: Teresa Rabbetts

Friday 25th October – Kimmeridge Keilidh in the New Hall at The Etches Collection, Kimmeridge BH20 5PE – caller: Paul Miles

Saturday 9th November – Private Birthday Party – caller: Dick Williams

Friday 15th November - Piddle Valley Barn Dance – Buckland Newton Village Hall DT2 7BZ (note change of venue for this month)– 7.30pm - caller: Teresa Rabbetts

Friday 29th November – Kimmeridge Keilidh in the New Hall at The Etches Collection, Kimmeridge BH20 5PE – caller: Malcolm Churchill – spot: Dorset Button Rapper

Saturday 7th December – Blandford Forum Running Club Barn Dance – caller: Teresa Rabbetts

Friday 27th December – Kimmeridge Keilidh in the New Hall at The Etches Collection, Kimmeridge BH20 5PE – caller: Teresa Rabbetts – spots: “open mic”